11 of 27 Mindanao provinces under Signal No. 1 due to ‘Basyang’

ILIGAN CITY (MindaNews / 11 Feb) – Eleven of Mindanao’s 27 provinces have been placed under Tropical Cyclone Warning Signal No. 1 as a tropical storm ‘Basyang’ entered the Philippine Area of Responsibility Sunday night.

The Philippine Atmospheric, Geophysical and Astronomical Services Administration (PAGASA), in its Severe Bulletin Weather #2 issued at 11 p.m. Sunday said  the center of the tropical storm, with international name “Sanba,” was estimated to be at 870 kilometers east of Hinatuan, Surigao del Sur as of 10 p.m.

It is expected to make landfall Tuesday morning in the Caraga region.

Placed under Signal 1 are Agusan del Norte, Agusan del Sur, Dinagat Islands, Surigao del Norte and Surigao del Sur all in Caraga region;  Compostela Valley, Davao Oriental and Davao del Norte in the Davao region; Camiguin, Bukidnon and Misamis Oriental in Northern Mindanao region.

“Scattered to widespread moderate to heavy rains will prevail over the eastern section of Visayas and of Mindanao beginning [Monday]. Residents of these areas must continue monitoring for updates, undertake precautionary measures against possible flooding and landslides, and coordinate with their respective local disaster risk reduction and management offices,” PAGASA said.

It likewise advised fisherfolk and those with small seacrafts not to venture out over the eastern seaboard of Visayas and of Mindanao.

The storm has maximum sustained winds of 65 kph near the center and gustiness of up to 80 kph. It is forecast to move west northwest at 27 kph.

It is expected to be 265 km east of Hinatuan Monday evening; 35 km southeast of Dumaguete City by Tuesday evening; 125 km east southeast of Puerto Princesa City by Wednesday evening; and 200 km east of Pagasa Island, Palawan, outside the Philippine Area of Responsibility by Thursday evening. (Bobby Timonera / MindaNews)