‘Basyang’ update: 12 Mindanao provinces under storm Signal 1

DAVAO CITY (MindaNews / 12 February) — Twelve of 27 Mindanao provinces have been placed under storm Tropical Cyclone Warning Signal 1 as of 5 a.m. Monday as Tropical Storm ‘Basyang’ slightly slowed down while moving west northwest.

‘Basyang’ (international name: Sanba) is expected to make landfall in Caraga region Tuesday morning, according to Severe Weather Bulletin 3 issued at 5 a.m. Monday by the Philippine Astronomical, Geophysical and Astronomical Services Adminstration (PAGASA).

Placed under Signal 1 are Dinagat Islands, Surigao del Norte, Surigao del Sur, Agusan del Norte and Agusan del Sur in Caraga region; Compostela Valley, Davao Oriental and Davao del Norte in Davao region;  Camiguin, Misamis Oriental and Bukidnon in Northern Mindanao; and Lanao del Sur in the Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao.

Sixteen of 33 cities in Mindanao are within the 12 provinces under Signal 1: Surigao, Tandag, Bislig, Butuan, Cabadbaran and Bayugan in Caraga region; Mati, Tagum, Panabo and Island Garden City of Samal in the Davao region; Cagayan de Oro, Gingoog, El salvador, Malaybalay and Valencia in Northern Mindanao; and Marawi City in the ARMM.

In the Visays, Southern Leyte and Bohol were also placed under Signal 1.

Tropical Storm ‘Basyang’s’ track as of 5 a.m. 12 February 2018. Courtesy of PAGASA

At 4 a.m. Monday, ‘Basyang’s’ center was estimated at 690 km east of Hinatuan, Surigao del Sur, packing maximum sustained winds of 65 kph near the center and gustiness of up to 80 kph and is forecast to move west northwest at 25 kph.

PAGASA said scattered to widespread moderate to heavy rains will prevail over the eastern section of Visayas and of Mindanao “beginning later today” and residents of these areas must continue monitoring for updates, undertake precautionary measures against possible flooding and landslides, and coordinate with their respective local disaster risk reduction and management offices.

The weather bulletin said sea travel is risky over the seaboards of Northern Luzon, eastern seaboards of Central and Southern Luzon, Eastern Visayas, and areas under Signal 1.

‘Basyang’ is expected to be 115 km east northeast of Hinatuan, Surigao del Sur by Tuesday morning, 60 km west southwest of Dumaguete City in Negros Oriental by Wednesday morning and 65 km west northwest of Puerto Princesa City, Palawan by Thursday morning ,95 km northeast of Pagasa Island, Palawan, and 160 km northwest of Pagasa Island, Palawan by Saturday morning. (MindaNews)