State college in DavOr now a university

DOSCST campus. From the school’s FB page

DAVAO CITY (MindaNews / 29 May) – President Rodrigo Duterte on Monday signed Republic Act 11033 converting the 28-year old Davao Oriental State College of Science and Technology (DOSCST) in Mati City, Davao Oriental into the Davao Oriental State University.

This has brought to three the number of state-run universities in Davao Region.

The other two universities in the region are University of Southeastern Philippines with main campus located in Barrio Obrero and two other campuses in Mintal, Davao City and Tagum City, and the University of the Philippines-Mindanao in Mintal in Davao City.

RA 11033 was authored by Davao Oriental 2nd District Rep. Joel Mayo Z. Almario and Senator Joel Villanueva.

“This is in recognition of the institution’s valuable role in molding professionals and experts who have contributed to the advancement of Davao Region and the rest of Mindanao,” Duterte said in his speech in Malacañang.

The President hopes that the country’s newest university will continue to take part in nation building by offering advanced technological instruction and “by pursuing highly specialized research programs in various fields of science and technology.”

Section 1 of RA 11033 provides that the DOSCST in Mati, including its satellite campuses in the towns of Banaybanay, Cateel and San Isidro, shall be converted into a university.

According to its website, DOSCST was established on December 13, 1989 by virtue of RA 6807, a law authored by former Davao Oriental 2nd District representative Thelma Z. Almario.

DOSCST was formerly the Mati Community College, a school that the former lawmaker founded in 1972 as mayor of Mati.

The government also runs Davao Del Norte State College in Panabo City, Davao del Norte and Southern Philippines Agri-Business and Marine and Aquatic School of Technology in Digos City, Davao del Sur. (Antonio L. Colina IV/MindaNews)