Storm signal 1 raised over 7 Mindanao provinces due to ‘Samuel’

DAVAO CITY (MindaNews / 19 Nov) –  Storm signal 1 has been raised over seven of 27 Mindanao provinces and five in the Visayas due to tropical depression ‘Samuel.’

Placed under Tropical Cyclone Warning Signal  (TCWS) No. 1 are the Mindanao provinces of Surigao del Norte, Surigao del Sur, Agusan del Norte, Agusan del Sur, Dinagat Islands or the entire Caraga region; and Misamis Oriental and Camiguin.

Also under TCWS 1 are Southern Leyte, Leyte, Bohol and the southern portsions of Samar and Eastern Sdamar.

In its Severe Weather Bulletin No. 4 issued at 11 a.m. Monday, the Philippine Atmospheric, Geophysical and Astronomical Services Administration (PAGASA) warned residents in Caraga and Eastern Visayas as well as the provinces of Davao Oriental, Compostela Valley, Bukidnon, Misamis Oriental, Camiguin, Bohol and Cebu that moderate to heavy rains may trigger flooding and landslides may occur

Fisherfolk and those with small seacrafts are advised not to venture out over the areas under TCWS No. 1 and the eastern seaboards of Visayas and Mindanao, it said.

At 10 a.m. Monday, ‘Samuel’ was estimated at 605 km east of Hinatuan, Surigao del Sur, packing maximum winds of up to 55 km per hour near the center and gustiness of up to 65 km/h, moving northwest at 15 km/h.

‘Samuel’ is forecast to be 245 km east northeast of Hinatuan Tuesday morning; in the vicinity of San Lorenzo, Guimaras Wednedsay morning; 255 km from northwest of Puerto Princesa City in Palawan on Thursday morning; and 725 km west northwest of Puerto Princesa City or outside the Philippine Area of Responsibility by Friday morning. (MindaNews)