Zamboanga City remains under GCQ; rest of Mindanao under MGCQ

DAVAO CITY (MindaNews / 01 August) —  Of Mindanao’s 27 provinces and 33 cities, only the city of Zamboanga is on extended General Community Quarantine (GCQ) while the rest are under Modified GCQ (MGCQ).

Zamboanga City’s quarantine status was reclassified back to GCQ from MGCQ  from July 16 to 31 along with Butuan City and the provinces of Agusan del Norte and Basilan.

But from August 1 to 15, only Zamboanga City in Mindanao is under GCQ. The rest are under MGCQ.

President Rodrigo Duterte announced during a meeting with the Inter-Agency Task Force  on the Management of Emerging Infectious Diseases (IATF-EID) on July 31 that areas that will remain under GCQ are the National Capital Region, Bulacan, Batangas, Cavite, Laguna, Rizal, Cebu, Lapu-lapu, Mandaue and Zamboanga City while the rest of the country will be under MGCQ.

Zamboanga City, which has consistently been second to Davao City in the number of COVID-19 cases,  recorded 594 cases as of July 30, 301 of them active cases, 274 recoveries and 19 deaths, the city’s IATF said.

On July 15, when the city was still under MGCQ, the number of cases, according to the Center for Health Development in the Department of Health in Zamboagn Peninsula, was 343 out of the regional count of 451.  (MindaNews)