26 of 27 Mindanao provinces under Alert Level 3 until Feb. 15; Basilan is Level 2

DAVAO CITY (MindaNews /31 January) — Twenty-six of 27 provinces in Mindanao are under Alert Level 3 until February 15,  with Basilan, previously under Alert Level 3 from January 16 to 31, now under Alert Level 2 until February 15. 

The latest classification in relation to the COVID-19 situation in these areas, is contained in Resolution 159-A of the Inter-Agency Task Force for the Management of Emerging Infectious Diseases (IATF).

On Thursday, five provinces in Mindanao previously classified under Alert Level 2 were placed under Alert Level 3 from January 28 to February 15: Camiguin, Davao Occidental, Dinagat Islands, Sulu, and Tawi-tawi. 

Cabinet Secretary and acting spokesperson Karlo Nograles, in a statement January 30, named the following provinces in Mindanao under Alert Level 3 starting February 1:  Agusan del Norte, Agusan del Sur, Bukidnon, Davao de Oro, Davao del Norte, Davao del Sur, Davao Oriental, Lanao del Norte, Lanao del Sur, Maguindanao, Misamis Occidental, Misamis Oriental, North Cotabato, Sarangani, South Cotabato, Sultan Kudarat, Surigao del Norte, Surigao del Sur,  Zamboanga del Norte, Zamboanga del Sur and Zamboanga Sibugay. 

The highly urbanized and independent cities in Mindanao whose Alert Level 3 classification has been extended until February 15 are Cagayan de Oro, Cotabato, General Santos, Iligan, Isabela and Zamboanga. 

Basilan was placed under Alert Level 2, along with Batanes, Bulacan, Cavite, Rizal in Luzon; Biliran and Southern Leyte in the Visayas. 

The National Capital Region and seven provinces were also downgraded from Alert Level 3 to Alert Level 2.

Outside Mindanao, the following cities and provinces were placed under Alert Level 3: Abra, Apayao, Baguio City, Benguet, Kalinga and Mountain Province in the Cordillera Administrative Region;  Dagupan City, Ilocos Norte, Ilocos Sur, La Union and Pangasinan in Region 1; City of Santiago, Cagayan, Isabela, Nueva Vizcaya and Quirino in Region 2; Angeles City, Aurora, Bataan, Nueva Ecija, Olongapo City, Pampanga, Tarlac and Zambales in Region 3; Batangas, Laguna, Lucena City and Quezon Province in Region 4-A;  Marinduque, Romblon, Occidental Mindoro, Oriental Mindoro and Puerto Princesa City in Region 4-B; 

Albay, Camarines Norte, Camarines Sur, Catanduanes, Masbate, Naga City and Sorsogon in Region 5; Aklan, Antique, Bacolod City, Capiz, Iloilo City, Iloilo, Negros Occidental and Guimaras in Region 6; Cebu City, Lapu-Lapu City, Mandaue City, Bohol, Cebu, Negros Oriental and Siquijor in Region 7 and 

Ormoc City, Tacloban City, Eastern Samar, Leyte, Northern Samar and Western Samar in Region 8. (Yas D. Ocampo / MindaNews)